vmlopez

Random Act of Kindness

In 1 on July 28, 2009 at 5:18 PM

Have you ever heard of a smile being contagious?  Well, as far as I know, it is true.  Now, have you heard the same applies to random acts of kindness?  In my book, that is also true. 

I hardly see any little details here and there in our society.  Usually, people do things to get something in return.  Hello. . . .  Don’t they know you are supposed to give more than you get?  I do.  The other day, I was driving home and I see a guy pushing his car in 100 degree weather because, I am assuming, that it stopped working.  Well, as I am at a stop sign, I see a couple of young guys pull over and run to the rescue.  Literally, they ran to the car which the sweaty guy was pushing and helped him get it off the road.  It was an amazing sight.  You could tell they didn’t know each other.  It truly warmed my heart and I had a smile on my face for the rest of the day.  In fact, I have a smile just writing about it. 

I don’t know why, but it really was great to see that.  What should I do to keep the chain reaction going?  Volunteer more often?  Donate more of my clothes?  Help someone that I meet in my daily life? 

Has helping others been so lost in our society that when we see something like, that we are amazed?  I hope it hasn’t.

What have you done to help someone in need?  Have you done your good deed of the day?  What was it? 

Psst, psst. . . Inside secret?  It makes you feel extraordinary when you do something to help someone else.  Believe me. . .  I know.

  1. Great post! I agree with you, it feels good when we are able to help others. In some points of our lives, welcoming help from others also has a lot of benefits.

    http://growingwithtruth.com/blog/52/how-to-welcome-help-from-others/

Leave a Reply

